The Building Safety Act, Simplified

Alex Marshall-Clarke, MIH’s Head of Property Management, recently penned an article for News on the Block:

The very first stage is to determine whether each individual building will qualify as a building in scope of the Building Safety Act.”

He continues,

…there is a long process that needs to be followed for all buildings that are in scope, therefore it is likely that a Consultant will need to be engaged throughout this process…”

News on the Block

The process can be broken down into stages:

  1. Stage 1: Identify if a building is “In Scope”
    A building “in scope” is currently defined as being 18 meters or above; or having at least 7 stories.
  2. Stage 2: Identify all Duty Holders
    If a building has been identified as being in scope, all of the relevant duty holders will need to be identified and notified.
  3. Stage 3: Identify Documentation needed
    The relevant documents and information required for a specific building in order to complete the safety case report
  4. Stage 4: Gathering the documents & Information
    Documents will need to be gathered, stored and organised electronically
  5. Stage 5: Identify Missing Documentation & information.
    Collate all of the documents and information for a building to complete the checklist
  6. Stage 6: Creating the Safety Case Report.
    the specialist Consultant will use the information held to prepare the Draft Safety Case Report
  7. Stage 7: Obtaining the BSA Safety Certificate
    The Safety Case Report produced by the specialist can be used to obtain a certificate of compliance from the Regulator.

Alex concludes:

This legislation is here to stay, so it is important that everyone working in the industry learns to accept and understand the requirements, as it will form the future and safety of our industry.”